California teen driving laws can be a bit confusing, but parents and teens alike need to know these laws and abide by them to avoid points on their license. Unfortunately, there are often news stories about teens involved in car accidents, causing car accidents, or making mistakes that could have resulted in significant loss. Understanding teen driving laws in California can help individuals to feel safer behind the wheel. And, when a mistake happens, it’s always a good idea to speak to an attorney about the losses you’ve faced.
What Are Teen Driving Laws in California?
In 2006, California put into place a new set of laws regarding teen drivers. These laws took steps to significantly restrict the ability of these drivers to engage in various activities behind the wheel. These newer laws and existing laws help support safe driving. Here are some of the most important laws you need to know.
When Can Teens Drive?
Teens that are 15½ years old may take their driver’s education course. This does not provide driving privileges at this age. When teens are 16 years old, they can then obtain a provisional license, after completing their educational requirements. At the age of 17½ years old, teens can then apply for a provision permit without taking educational courses. And, at the age of 18, they can obtain a driver’s license without getting a learner’s permit. In other words, teens under the age of 17½ must obtain a provision permit requiring driver’s education courses, and those 17½ or older do not need educational courses.
Once this is complete, teens then must complete the CA Department of Motor Vehicle’s written test. Then, the teen must maintain a learner’s permit for 6 months and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training. After completing this requirement, students then take and pass the Department of Motor Vehicle’s Road Test.
First 12 Months
Once a teen passes the road test, he or she can drive alone. However, there are some restrictions on this process. During the first 12 months of having a license, the teen cannot drive between the hours of 11 pm and 5 am. They also cannot have any passengers under the age of 20 in their vehicle unless there is a licensed driver over the age of 25 in the vehicle at the time. There are some exceptions to this rule:
- School-related necessities
- Medical emergencies
- Immediate need of a family member for medical care
Students who need these options can apply for an exception. But, in cases where the concern is pre-planned, such as work-related needs to drive during restricted hours, an employer-signed document must be in the vehicle stating this requirement. These restrictions fall off after 12 months or when the individual turns 18.
Another key area of limitation on teen drivers has to do with electronic communication. This may include the use of cell phones or other hand-held devices. Teens that are under the age of 18 may not use these devices while driving. This requirement is in place in an effort to cut down on risks of texting or talking on the phone while driving. Teens may not use hands-free mode either. The law requires no such communication to be used while driving.
Why Are There Restrictions on Teen Drivers?
There are many reasons why teen drivers need to have such provisions in place. The most important one is inexperience. According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, it is three times more likely for a teen, aged 16 to 19 to be involved in a fatal crash than for those over the age of 20. For this reason, the provisional license is nearly always a good thing for teen drivers.
Penalties for Violations
Teens who violate these types of restrictions will face an immediate 30-day restriction on their license if and when they receive two or more points during one year. A six-month suspension and one-year probation are required if the teen driver accumulates three or more points during any one year. Community service, fines, and other implications can also apply.
Teen Drivers Can Cause Accidents
Perhaps what is most important for teens, parents and other drivers to know is that teen drivers are more likely to cause accidents especially when they violate these laws. If you or someone you know has become the victim of an accident involving a teen driver, our team can help you. We provide motor vehicle accident support for those who need it. Discuss your circumstances with our skilled team of attorneys to learn what your options may be in obtaining financial support for any losses you’ve experienced as a result of teen driver mistakes. A free consultation is available to you for such instances. Call our offices today to discuss your situation.